Monday, 22 February 2010


Hello! my name is Vanessa. My talk is going to be about Luxembourg.
The capital of Luxembourg is Arlon. Luxembourg is a small country because it has 453.000 habitants.
Luxembourg is geographically north of Belgium, eastern of Germany, southern of France and western Belgium. It´s currency is the euro. In Luxembourg speak French and German. It´s important cities are Esch Sur Alzette and Dudelang. The climate is warm. In the country´s economy works in the service sector 83,2% of the population, industry 14,3% of the population and agriculture 2,5% of the population.
I first have to talk a little about the modern history of Luxembourg since 1945.
After the second world war Luxembourg abandoned its policy of neutrality, when he became a founding memberof NATO in 1949 and was part of the United Nations. It is one of the signatories of the Treaty of Rome and constituted a monetary and economic union with Belgium and the Netherlands, the so-called Benelux in 1948.
Second in 1951, Robert Schuman, a native of this country, driving the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC).
Luxembourg became one of the six founding countries of the European union.
Finally on 24 December 1999, Prime Minister Juncker announced decision by the Grand Duke Jean abdicated the throne in fauor of Prince Henrí, who assumed the title and the constitutional duties of the Grand Duke. Thanks for listening.

No comments: